Thread: Installing software under linux

Installing software under linux

Hello,
    I am new to linux (KUbuntu 7.10, Gutsy Gibbon) and I would like to know if there are no packages "catch-all?" indeed, every time I want to install software, I need a package first. Even if I try to install this package requires another package, the AC gets a bit tiring .. then? can you help me Please??

Re: Installing software under linux

How'll take you to install software. Put more up to date, you have 2 versions behind. It is called the Intrepid Ibex 8.10.

Look in the documentation ubuntu .

You have several ways to install programs on Linux. What you find boring, and it's dependencies is quite manage with a package manager (apt-get, adept, Synaptic Package Manager).

I wonder how you installed a program elsewhere.

how I install? I unpack then I read the readme file, and I follow the instructions

If you know the name of your program you can do sudo aptitude install-name program or go through your package manager (must be Kpackage for you), you research your program and then you asked him to install it.

How to Install Software in Ubuntu

1. Connect to the internet unless you are using offline repositories.

Graphically

1. Open your main menu, select System, click on Synaptic (or Adept Updater, depending on your distribution).
    2. Type a query into the search
    3. Select a file you think is relative to what you want
    4. Click "Install"

Command-line

1. Open up terminal (Konsole, xterm, or any other command line/bash shell interface)
    2. Type sudo su (sudo as in superuser do, su as in "switch user") to get administrative privileges to install software
    3. Type your password if prompted.
    4. When it gives you a new cursor after something that looks like this, "root@computer:/#" where "computer" is the name of your computer: