Thread: [DBNETLIB]Specified SQL server not found.

[DBNETLIB]Specified SQL server not found.

I have a DELL desktop computer at home with configuration: Intel i7 2.6Ghz, 2GB RAM, 512GB HDD, EVGA Geforce GTX 260 Core 21, SONY DVD RW DRU-820A, Windows Vista. I am intermediate programmer and learned programming languages like C sharp, SQL, Core JAVA, etc. I started programming on C Sharp and use SQL as backend for my project. But while working in SQL got an error message i.e [DBNETLIB]Specified SQL server not found. Please tell me how to overcome this error??

Re: [DBNETLIB]Specified SQL server not found.

According to me, you must be trying to connect a client computer running Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008 to a named instance of sql server. So, in case like this, the connection may fail/rejected. And if using Windows data access component 6.0 to connect to named instance of sql server, you will receive the following error ( i.e [DBNETLIB]Specified SQL server not found). So, try to avoid this. And always note that specify the TCP portname or named pipename in the connection string correctly.

Firstly, check that the SQL Server is pinged by name from the machine that is trying to connect to it. If done with ping, try to create a UDL file on the box and then use for establishing a connection (just create a text file and rename it with a .UDL extension and then when you double-click it, you will see a wizard from creating a connection).Add Network Library=DBMSSOCN" to your connection string. And think so you are trying to connect with another machine also. Also check that SQL installed correctly or not. Hope this solution will work for you.
    Last edited by MindSpace; 06-01-2010 at 09:42 AM.