Thread: What is the Phar manifest file entry in PHP?

What is the Phar manifest file entry in PHP?

Hi everyone,
    I am currently studying about the compressions that is done in PHP programming language. I get very confused when the term Phar comes in compressing. I somewhat have understood the concept of the Phar but don't know anything about the Phar manifest file entry. So thought that there would be someone interested in helping me. So please tell me what is the Phar manifest file entry in PHP?

Re: What is the Phar manifest file entry in PHP?

The phar file format is composed of container / manifest / content / signature, and stores the critical information that is contained in the phar archive in its manifest. The Phar manifest is a highly optimized format that allows the specification file by file compression, permissions and even user metadata such as user or group owner. All values of more than one byte are stored as little-endian, with the exception of the API version that is stored for historical reasons in 3 pieces double enders. All unused flags are reserved for future use and should not be used to store custom information. Use the metadata file to store custom metadata on individual files.
    I do to dead flowers what people at morgues do to dead people. Suck all the moisture out, dip them in plastic, paint them up pretty and put them in a nice frame.