Thread: Broadcasting and unicasting of packets in different protocols

Dimensioner Guest

Broadcasting and unicasting of packets in different protocols

I am a networking student , I had a bit of doubt regarding the protocol being used in the networking, I was more concerned about the packets being broadcasted and unicasted in certain protocols such as ARP and the RARP , what exactly you mean when you say that the packet is being broadcasted and unicasted, I will also appreciate if you can explain a bit about the working of this protocol , I am waiting for your response , I hope I will get plenty of responses so that I can clear out my doubt. Thank you in advance .

Re: Broadcasting and unicasting of packets in different protocols

ARP replies are absolutely unicast -- RFC 826 states that replies must be sent to "the (new) target Machine address on the similar hardware on which the request was received." the majority RARP implementations would most likely do the same thing because they are same -looking and similarly -named protocols. But you can not totally rely on it , I hope from my post and above given posts you would have been content.

I would presume that most real-world implementations would make use of unicast, just because that is what ARP does. You can search around over net and look into various networking books , you will find that they all explain the RARP replies as being unicast .If you are really interested, establish a small RARP environment and a protocol analyzer like Ethereal or tcpdump and see what you receive when you put them on the cable.