Thread: ERP systems in an Enterprise ?

ERP systems in an Enterprise ?

I am a management student pursuing BMS from mumbai university . I have huge plans in my future. After completion of my graduation I will do MBA from a well known college and then work for at least 4 to 5 tears. After having work experience, I am planning to expand my father's venture into a multinational company. I know this seems funny to you but it is not. I wanted to ask about the ERP systems, Are those systems helpful in any possible ways . Can anyone please elaborate in detail.

Re: ERP systems in an Enterprise ?

I really appreciate your views. No it does not sound funny at all, it seems you are very ambitious and have set your future plans and objectives from now on. If you really want to diversify your father' business and turn it into a MNC, then you should definitely use ERP systems . ERP systems have a big edge over the traditional way of managing an enterprise , unlike traditional way an enterprise way has integrated functional areas where each and every department ha co-ordination with each other . This enterprise way helps in better decision making and lead the enterprise towards a common goal,Where you can divide the functional areas such that it department becomes a group of individuals which has a common goal or objective. In traditional way the interaction is only at the top level, this leads in conflict of ideas at the managerial level, so they are excluded from the decision making part.In a well organized enterprise each and every individual directly or indirectly influences the decision making. So first you will have to organize your organization in a well managed firm and then opt for the ERP implementation.
    Last edited by G-MAT; 19-11-2010 at 04:43 AM.