Thread: VB .net program to accept Null Values

VB .net program to accept Null Values

I am new to the VB .NET programming language. Actually I want to ask that is there any way to write a program that can accept the null values. Even if possible tell me how to do in SQL also. I am having the following value :
    CheckString(RemoveCarriageReturns(dreader.GetString(2)))
    And I want to insert this value into a table. Also I want that this value should accept the Null Values. Can someone help me in solving my query.?? Please help me soon.
    Extremely Thanks in Advance.
    Just a reply to say thank you for these links and posts I have a lot to read and learn now!

Re: VB .net program to accept Null Values

When the application expects a data value and gets nothing or unexpected values then the Null or nonexistent data gets complicated. So you will have to perform coding that properly handles these situations to avoid application failure. The default value of reference-type variables is null. A null value is a value that doesn't refer to any object. That's why this requires a close examination of the data wherever and whenever it's needed. There's no VB.NET equivalent of the null keyword like in another programming language like C#. VB.NET uses the Nothing keyword. The following code is an example of the Null value :

Dim sTest As String
    If (sTest Is Nothing) Then
    Console.WriteLine("sTest is Null")
    End If

Also the VB.NET doesn't treat null and Nothing as equals. So the programmer that is writing a code in VB .NET will have to check the possibility for both the values.

As you said that you want the code that your value can accept the Null Value. And CheckString(RemoveCarriageReturns(dreader.GetStrin g(2))) was your value. So the code in VB .NET will be :

dbconnection2.Open()
    dbcommand2.CommandText = "select orderitemid,qty,description,despatched from tblorderitem where orderid = " & gloOrderID
    dreader = dbcommand2.ExecuteReader