TechArena Community

TechArena Community (http://forums.techarena.in/)
-   Windows Software (http://forums.techarena.in/windows-software/)
-   -   How to create a new DataSet (http://forums.techarena.in/windows-software/1318986.htm)

Leonard 23-03-2010 08:50 AM

How to create a new DataSet
 
Hi,
I want to add up a new DataSet in SQL server. I had read some help in the same but could not get the general idea of this. How to create a new DataSet. What are the different types of the same. Also post some details about defining components in the dataset. In each report I can try to have different dataset. Does it is possible to run different treatments such as memory tries, filters without you reconnect to the database.

Raine 23-03-2010 08:51 AM

Re: How to create a new DataSet
 
To create a new dataset, go to the Data tab, then in the dropdown menu click <New DataSet dataSet>. In the dialog, select the data source you want to work. In our example select the DataSource1.When you create a new DataSet, you can create your query in text or use a stored procedure. In text mode you have two options either enter your query manually or use the expression editor that allows you to use global variables (number of page), other dataSet, arithmetic operators, Comparison. To start the expression editor click Fx.

Sam.D 23-03-2010 08:51 AM

Re: How to create a new DataSet
 
All DataSet that you create will be visible in the DataSet component. To display the DataSet component, go to the top menu View > dateSet. This component allows you to view dateSet but also the names of these columns.Then you can also customize the report. Reporting Services 2005 provides the ability to add headers and footers to your document as a text editor. Go to the tab Report menu Page Header. Horizontal bars allow you to visualize the segmentation of your document.

ZeDaX 23-03-2010 08:51 AM

Re: How to create a new DataSet
 
I had created a invoice in the same. Normally an array of 3 columns with 3 rows which are header, footer and detail appears. You can add rows and columns in a simple right click. To complete your table, you can drag and drop it directly from your dataset fields in the rows in your table. By this you are done and your table is created. You can add more by the customization option.

ThoMas321 23-03-2010 08:52 AM

Re: How to create a new DataSet
 
You can easily customize each element by changing the background color, text, font, etc. For this just select an element or a a cell line and click Format. You can also sort the columns in your tables. These sorts can be done on a field in the DataSet or an expression. This feature is available for tables or matrices. You can do sorting on several columns and even in groups. To manage interactive sorting you need to do a right click > property on the cell header table. Then go to the tab Interactive Sort.

Macarenas 23-03-2010 08:52 AM

Re: How to create a new DataSet
 
Here is how you will add a new layout in the table. Click on the the property bar, make right click Insert Group. Now you can see a new group. Here you can put the title in the header. Then you can add a description were you can add the product details and etc. A property table allows you to tell your visitors that the dataSet has returned no results. Go to the properties table in the Data tab, and change the ownership of fields by NoRows adequate value.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:29 AM.