Thread: How do I Replace a Powerbook PRAM battery?

How do I Replace a Powerbook PRAM battery?

Let me tell you that I am not good with the hardware parts of the PowerBook. Also I don't like to do some R and D with the PowerBook (since the cost matters ). Now my friend told me that I am getting some issues because of the expired PRAM battery which is located in PowerBook. Now I want to change it, but the process for changing neither he knows nor me. So thought that you guys can provide some help by giving some useful information about changing PRAM battery of a PowerBook.

Re: How do I Replace a Powerbook PRAM battery?

The following steps would be useful for Resetting PRAM :
    1. You should start by shutting down the computer.
    2. Then locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P and R. You will have to hold these keys down concurrently in the fourth step.
    3. Turn on the computer.
    4. Press and hold down the key combo Command-Option-PR. You press it before the gray screen appears.
    5. Hold down these keys until the computer restarts and you hear two beeps start.
    6. Release the keys.

The PRAM of the computer is restored to the defaults. It is possible that the clock settings are restored to the default date on some models.

I have tried to explain you in detail with the help of figures which will make you easy to understand. The below instructions will be useful for replacing a Powerbook PRAM battery.

• Use a curve to turn the battery locking screw 90 degrees clockwise.
    • Raise the battery out of the computer.

Then you will have to remove the screws that are described as follows :
    • Two 3 mm Phillips in the battery cubicle, it moreover side of the battery contacts.
    • Four 3 mm Phillips approximately the memory cubicle.
    • Four 16 mm Phillips Along the hinge.

• Eradicate the memory cubicle cover.
    • Remove The Two 12mm Phillips screws on the bracket at the Aluminum pinnacle of the memory compartment.