Thread: XP freezes after login, can't boot in safe mode

XP freezes after login, can't boot in safe mode

Hi Everyone,

I've seen variations of this problem but none that match mine. The other day I was downloading music and on the internet. I clicked on a link and it basically froze my computer up so I did a hard shutdown. When I reboot I can login and the desktop comes up and I can see all the programs and folders and a few programs start loading and then it freezes. I can move the mouse but can't click on anything or do control-alt-delete. This happens every time (even when I tried logging in as Administrator). I'm not a computer expert but I've always been able to fix problems in safe mode, however when I try booting in safe mode I get this message "We apologize for the inconvenience but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this." It also hangs on Agp440 when loading the drivers in safe mode. I have a Dell D600 desktop. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have an external and most of my things backed up but hadn't backed up for a couple weeks so I need to get the rest of my files. Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Re: XP freezes after login, can't boot in safe mode

As you are saying that the issue started when you were downloading from the internet then you need to do a scan for the malware infection.

Yeah I am guessing it's a virus but I can't start my computer or even get into safe mode to do a virus scan and get rid of it. Any suggestions?

I'm not a computer guy (i'm an accountant) so I don't get everything you guys are saying. I've always been able to get rid of viruses in the past by booting into safe mode and running removal program but I can't even boot into safe mode this time so I don't have a clue what to do. I got the Windows XP cd today and am going to try and do a repair install when I get home. If that doesn't work i'll start with your suggestions. Thanks again!