Thread: Vista 64-bit Compatibility

BKGrch Guest

Vista 64-bit Compatibility

I'm in the market for a new computer and was wondering about Vista 64-bit's compatibility with programs, hardware, etc.

I'm an architecture student running AutoCAD, Rhino, Maya, Adobe CS3. Are these compatible with Vista 64-bit?

I've heard that Vista 64-bit is a faster, more powerful OS than what I've been using (XP Pro) but I don't want to switch if 64-bit compatibility is still in its infancy (at least for the applications I'm using).

I've read many threads on this subject, but am apologetically still unsure (it's a lot of money for a grad student to invest in, and many discussions on this subject are relatively old).

Thank you for any answers/suggestions/advice. I appreciate everyone's help.

Jeff Gaines Guest

Re: Vista 64-bit Compatibility

I don't know where you heard that - Vista is not faster than XP by any means, probably the opposite is true. The key is to ensure that Vista 64 drivers exist for your hardware, that gets you off the ground.

I run XP x64 because I have 8GB RAM on my PC and XP (32) would only recognise about 3.5GB of it. Apart from that I have sen no advantage to 64 bit over 32 bit - except it's a bit sexy to run a 64 bit OS :-)

--
    Jeff Gaines
    Damerham Hampshire UK

Charlie Russel - MVP Guest

You should discuss compatibility with your specific vendors. Certainly, CAD and other large graphics programs can benefit from the ability to use more memory that 64-bit brings. I don't know if any of the programs you listed have specific 64-bit versions - if they do, they're likely a good deal more powerful than the 32-bit versions on large drawings, especially with 3D and shading. But even the 32-bit ones could benefit, as long as they're compatible - but only the vendor knows for sure.

--

Dominic Payer Guest

AutoCAD 2008 will have a native 64-bit version
    http://through-the-interface.typepad...d_2008_64.html