Thread: Cannot resolve host names over VPN

Cannot resolve host names over VPN

I have set up a VPN server on my desktop computer. The primary reason for setting up this VPN is to be able to access my home network shares, networked printers, VNC, as well as web pages not accessible to the internet on my laptop while away from home. While testing out my VPN at a friends house I found that I cannot access my network shares, etc by their host name, but am able to access some things but only by using the local IP address of the computer in my home network.

The setup:
    VPN Server: Windows Vista Ultimate (x64 SP1)
    VPN Client: Windows Vista Home Premium (x64 SP1)

I know I am lousy at explaining things if there is any more info needed let me know. Please note that I'm not a network admin by trade so please keep that in mind with any responses.

Re: Cannot resolve host names over VPN

Hello trm96, First of all just ensure that your VPN is configured to use/assign your internal name server to the VPN clients instead of name servers the ISP gave you. In case you don’t have internal name server, then place a host file on those remote VPN PCs with the local/private hostname/IP address for your internal PCs. This will help.

Thanks for the reply Frank. As I said I'm not a net admin, I assume you are talking about the host file located at "%windir%\System32\drivers\etc\hosts" Am I correct?

Yep, that's the one.
    I'll report back to say if it worked...

In order to use shares via name resolution on the VPN server itself, if your
    VPN server has a public static IP, you'll need to include that public IP in
    the remote hosts file.

Don't know about Ubuntu...for the VPN server...