Thread: Explore.exe missing

Explore.exe missing

I am not technically minded! I have an Asus notebook running XP with only 4GB hard disc and no optical disc.
    When I switch on it shows the Windows logo and then a box titled "Exporer.EXE - Application error" the contents of which is "The application failed to intitialize properly (0x0000005). Click on ok to terminate the application".
    I have tried all the suggestions I can find online using task manager and all the suggestions fail because I cannot find explorer.exe.
    I tried "Installing OS" (after pressing F2) but nothing happens.
    I do not have any recovery disc.
    Any ideas how I can get this working. There is nothing I need to save on it. I have access to a laptop, memory stick and external HD.

Re: Explore.exe missing

To fix this issue, you can try to run sfc/scannow and this will scan your entire system file for any kind of bug in that. If Explorer.exe application is corrupted then you can also copy the explorer.exe file from some other computer to your computer. Before doing that, you should make sure that you have ended the process explorer.exe from task manager. I hope that this will solve the issue for you.

Thanks .... I did try the sfc/scannow before but I get a message that Windows cannot find it.

If I want to load explorer.exe from another computer then how do I load it? .... I cannot access start menu and the Asus will not show anything plugged in to the usb slot.