Thread: how to get a substring extracted from a line in a variable

how to get a substring extracted from a line in a variable

Hello everyone I am just a beginner with linux and yesterday I have heard something about shell scripting. I really dont know how to develop scripts in linux, although I have visited many sites that shows how to do scripting but still can not make it how to do. I would want to know something about sub-string, where i can read the line from file/directory and based on the line I can put the whole thing in a variable after separating the information from that line. So any one with a knowledge of the scripting in linux can provide me with some solution. I would be very thankful for who ever comes up with perfect solution.

Re: how to get a substring extracted from a line in a variable

Can you provide me with the your scripts which you have developed or any kind of example as such so that I can show you how to carry on the operation of the substring. Its quite easy to develop this provided you have any knowledge about it. I can only help you to sort out some issue which you are having in finding out the substring , So please provide it with the scripts which you want to be substring. Just by looking at what I have done you will be able to know how to get a substring in a variable.

This is my subscript I have managed to develop by myself by learning from the websites but not able to substring a line into a variable.
    • !/bin/sh
    • dir=/home/user/input/test.log #(this is the input file)
    • msg=`tail -1 $dir`
    • #(it will take only the last line as log file will be updated every day)
    • echo "$msg"

The output of the above script is something like this:
    file_name successfully ran on Mon Jul 12 23:15:00 SST 2009.
    Now, I would want to extract name, date,time,status so the output should be like this
    • name date time status
    • file_name Mon Jul 12 23:15:00 success