Thread: Can i install windows on separate internal drive

Can i install windows on separate internal drive

Hello folks I am a software engineer and love to do some testing with the computer system. Currently I am having an iMac at my home with a one old computer that I have kept for testing. I want to know that can I use one extra internal drives to add Windows XP on it. Or since I am having a 500 Gb hard disk so it would be better that I install the Windows Xp on two separate partitions. Can any one tell me that is which one would be better and will consume less electricity and performs faster. I am having 1 GB ram on my PC .

re: Can i install windows on separate internal drive

First of all why do you want to install windows on the hard disk that also has windows on it. Also if you really want to do it I guess the 50: 50 approach would be beneficial. Since you are having a 500Gb Hard disk and since this your old computer and I don’t think so that there would be too much of data on it as you are using iMac, so it is better to use 50:50 partition approach. I have a windows xp and Mac os on my hard disk. Also having two os on the same hard disk will be more faster then having it on other hard disk. So go on and install it on the same disk.

Sorry for the wrong interpretation of my problem , I wanted to install the Windows xp on hard disk that has a Mac Os on it. My old computer also has a mac os on it. So I want to have a Windows on a external device. So the question is does having windows on the same hard disk as Mac is better or having Mac and Windows on two separate device could be useful. I am in a hurry to perform my test so can you provide me with an accurate answer.