Thread: Best bit rate for mp3

Best bit rate for mp3

Hey Guys. I need help with some sound related terms. I'm new at multimedia file handling and converting. I want to know what is the best bit rate for mp3 files. How is it classified and what are the common settings for the same? Please help guys!

Re: Best bit rate for mp3

MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3, more commonly referred to as MP3, is a patented digital audio encoding format using a form of lossy data compression. It is a common audio format for consumer audio storage, as well as a de facto standard of digital audio compression for the transfer and playback of music on digital audio players. MP3 is an audio-specific format that was designed by the Moving Picture Experts Group. Everything in terms of sound is related to the bit rate.

Bitrate, sometimes written bit rate is the number of bits that are conveyed or processed per unit of time. The bit rate is quantified using the bits per second unit, often in conjunction with an SI prefix such as kilo-, mega-, giga- or tera- bit/s. 1 kbit/s has almost always meant 1,000 bit/s, not 1,024 bit/s, also before 1999 when SI prefixes were defined for units of information in an IEC standard. The formal abbreviation for bits per second is bit/s and not bits/s. In less formal contexts the abbreviations b/s or bps are often used, though this risks confusion with bytes per second which is B/s, Bps.