Thread: AFter Office 2003 SP3 Update, my custom dictionary is gone...

AFter Office 2003 SP3 Update, my custom dictionary is gone...

Hi guys,

Am new here. A very good friend of mine recommended me this site. I was having some serious trouble with MS Word. Well, the thing is, by profession I am a Medical Transcriptionist, and I've got like at least a THOUSAND medical words and terms added to my MS Word dictionary.

Now, after I downloaded the Office 2003 SP3 update and installed it, it's all gone now All my words are showing up as RED AGAIN

Guys, please help me out.

PS: I knew something might happen, and I took backup of my .dic dictionaries, normal.dot, etc, but even after restoring all of them, it's still showing all those words as RED

Any help in this regards will be greatly appreciated.

Thanx a lot in advance

Re: AFter Office 2003 SP3 Update, my custom dictionary is gone...

Can you do a System Restore to a previous point to a day before you downloaded and installed the SP3? I think it should restore everything as before.

Basically, when you had installed the SP3; something should had went wrong resulting the deletion of your custom dictionary.

How to Download and Install the Updates:

• Important Before you install this update, make sure that the following requirements have been met.
    • Microsoft Windows Installer 2.0
    • Before you install this update, you must install Windows Installer 2.0 or later.
    • For additional information about this requirement, see the "Windows Installer
    • Update Requirements" section of this article.
    • Microsoft Office XP Service Pack 3 (SP-3)
    • Before you install this update, install Office XP SP-3. For additional
    • information about how to install Office XP Service Pack 3, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    • 325671 Description of the Office XP Service Pack 3 (Microsoft Office XP Service Pack 3 for Multilingual User Interface Pack)