Thread: Counter strike Source lock up issue

Counter strike Source lock up issue

Hey guys, I am a big fan of Counterstrike: Source. I have been playing the game for about 2 years now without any issues till now. I have tried playing the game on Windows Vista and Windows 7. It works fine but i get a lot of lag and low fps. I currently have Windows XP and am trying to play Source on it. My problem is that Counterstrike Source will lock up for about 2-3 minutes and then it goes back up after about 1 minute of waiting. This is very annoying while playing the game as it breaks the continuity. I do not wish to go back to Vista or windows 7 for reasons mentioned above regarding lag so please help me out. My system specifications are as follows, my CPU and processor are AMD Athlon XP, 1.84GHz. My video card is Nvidia Geforce 5 FX 5200 256 MB. I have 1 GB DDR and 266 SDRAM,1 by 1gb.

re: Counter strike Source lock up issue

Check whether you have updated your Windows or not. Also make sure not processes such as a firewall or anti virus are running in the background as they consume a lot of resources. Give how old your configuration sounds i would say your power supply is most probably failing you here. Your system might also be overheating and locking up leading to your problem. Check the temperatures of your system when you are putting in under stress or while playing the game. Try and see if this is just the case in case of Source or some other games too. If it is then it could be an indicator that something went wrong during the installation or some Windows XP update which is missing is doing this, considering you played this for 2 years but didn't mention on which of the 3 operating systems you did that, so updating your Windows looks like a good solution right about now.