Thread: Tips for Virus Prevention and Detection

Tips for Virus Prevention and Detection

I have recently bought a new computer and the first thing that I need to tell you that I am new to computer. I want to keep my system protected from the viruses and so I need some suggestion from your people for this. I would be happy if you can provide me some useful tips that how can I prevent my computer from the viruses. Thank you in advance.

Re: Tips for Virus Prevention and Detection

I have some of the important points for virus prevention.
    • Do not open email attachments from unknown source, suspect, or not legitimate. Some viruses are capable of spreading via email automatically without the sender knowing.
    • If a suspicious attachment must be opened, it is best to save it on your hard disk, the file will be checked by the anti-virus once a copy on disk.
    • Delete chain letters and spam (Spam). Please do not forward or reply to them, because they serve to confirm the validity of your email address. This type of email is considered a form of spam, because it is unsolicited, intrusive and increases the network traffic.

You should make sure that you have made the backup of your files regularly. It is important to have a backup copy, if a virus managed to infect your computer and destroy your files, all will be lost. A file recovery is much easier to do than to recreate all your work. You can save on the network (P account: the user), copy on disk, or burn to CD (CD). If you think you have a virus, call the customer service and a technician will assist you.

Today our computers are easy targets of programs called "malware". Examples of malware include viruses, worms and Trojans, Spyware, Adware, Dialers. It is necessary to have the right tools to protect our pc and avoid problems, ensuring their safety. Internet has become a major means of transferring information between computers, and therefore, today is the largest point of entry for viruses and threats.