Thread: Is it Safe to remotely connect my PC with Microsoft Technical Support

Is it Safe to remotely connect my PC with Microsoft Technical Support

Since last few days I am in touch with Microsoft Technical support. It’s been a great experience as I have got almost all kind of Technical assistance from there end. Now the person, with whom I am in touch with emails, wants to connect remotely to my computer to provide me with better assistance. I am a bit worried over its safety as I have never tried it before. Is this their normal procedure? Also I want make sure that this request is a Bona-fide request with the authority and knowledge of Microsoft. I really appreciate the assistance offered by them but I am a little nervous about this and I won’t b comfortable without confirming this so please let me know that is this safe. Will it affect my system by any means?
    Thank you.

Re: Is it Safe to remotely connect my PC with Microsoft Technical Support

Hey Friend don’t be nervous as there is no wrong in inquiring about the security policies as it is about the safety of our system. Microsoft has its support centers across the globe and as a part of delivering support they use the medium of email, phone and remote session. These sessions are recorded too. During the remote session the Engineer can also request you to provide control of your system so that he can remotely perform necessary troubleshooting or some important settings. If you are worried about the security of your personnel stuff and uncomfortable with the idea of remote session, you can either provide them read-only access or else you can simply decline the request asking them to provide you assistance over Phone or email. But it would be better if you allow them to have a remote access to your system. Hope this helps you taking your decision