Thread: Linksys WRT120N Router cannot connect to DNS server

Linksys WRT120N Router cannot connect to DNS server

I have a desktop computer which is running on the Windows XP service pack 2. I have an Internet connection connected to the computer via a router. The router is inturn connected to the cable modem. From past few days I am not able to access the Internet. Whenever I try to connect to Internet, I get an error message saying "Cannot connect to Primary DNS server". The router which I am using is Linksys WRT120N. As I am not that good at networking I am not able to figure out what the problem is. So if anybody knows Why my Linksys WRT120N Router cannot connect to DNS server, please share some information. Thanks in advance.

Re: Linksys WRT120N Router cannot connect to DNS server

Normally the DNS server problems are from the Internet service provider side and not from the customer side. Hence contact your Internet service provider and describe them the error you are getting. They will send some engineer or will help you in changing the configuration so that you are able to connect the DNS server without any problems.

Sometime it happens that the domain name server which you computer is used to connect is not responding and hence the computer is unable to establish the connection with it. Whenever such situation arises the computer displays the error message like the one you are receiving. The only way to solve the problem is to flush all the entries of the DNS from the computer so that the computer does not try to contact the DNS server which is not reponding. To flush the DNS entries and cache, Click on Start Menu and then select Run. In the Run tab, type "CMD". Now the command prompt window will open. In the Command prompt window type "ipconfig /flushdns". Now the Computer will flush the DNS cache and will display the message when the task is complete. Close the Command prompt and then try to connect to Internet.