Thread: What does Windows Phone 8 Software Development Kit offer?

What does Windows Phone 8 Software Development Kit offer?

Now that Windows 8 has been declared by Microsoft and will release it soon, it is sure that most of the software developers will have to start making softwares and applications for it. Being a software developer myself, I didn’t get chance to try out the consumer preview of Windows 8. I am thinking of starting to learn the Windows 8 SDK. Can someone tell me what the base features of Windows 8 SDK are?

Re: What does Windows Phone 8 Software Development Kit offer?

The first thing you will notice in a Windows Phone 8 Software Development Kit is that it has development features for desktop PC as well as Windows phone. While using these development kits, you will many similarities among them. For example, the syntax, the keywords and other such details. Even the names of the APIs for Windows Phone 8 Software Development Kit for desktop PC and mobile phones are same. But don’t get confused about it as though the names look same, the functioning and the processes created by them are totally different. I think that this issue is going to create many problems on a long run. Microsoft must plan some new names which will help one to distinguish between APIs of PC and that for mobile.

Windows 8 is known to have support for three different screen resolutions, which are WVGA (800 x 480), WXVGA (1280 x 768) and 720p (1280 x 720). Since Windows 8 can be ported from PC to smartphones, I think that this is the reason for these various screen resolutions. I think that this feature will make application development for Windows 8 difficult. The software developers will need to integrate a module in their softwares which will detect the screen resolution and scale the display accordingly. Developers will need to develop much better icons and text that will adjust itself according to the screen resolution available.