Thread: Looking for simple data storage methods?

Looking for simple data storage methods?

I am pretty new to database development, and I'm looking out for the quickest and simplest way to build a system in which a user completes a questionnaire which should be developed in HTML, and after the data has been submitted then the data which has been submitted should get dumped as a record into a file. This file could be a database, or some formatted texfile that could be imported later, perhaps... Heck, even an Excel file would be great. I have access to Excel, File maker, and some SQL capabilities (though I'm not sure to what extent - I don't know the first thing about SQL, but we have a server management package with a company that has some degree of MySQL 4 and 5 access). Can I get some advice on which method to pursue?

Re: Looking for simple data storage methods?

I would like to recommend you that the simplest storage method is a simple text file. In general, you create a text file; put it on your server, and then your submission script opens and writes to the end of it every time your form is submitted. For specifics, I would post your question in the programming forum under the language you intend to accomplish this with. It should be trivial no matter which language you use. I think that this will help you in solving the problem.

Looking at the questions which you have mentioned I would like to recommend you that I would probably opt for a simple MySQL or Sqlite database. Pretty easy to pull or dump data from the database once you have that setup it. A text file would work, but it's often much more complicated than a database when you need to manipulate data in the file. I hope that you like my suggestion and hope this will help you in solving the problem.