Thread: SQL Query for different search.

SQL Query for different search.

Hi, I am a Engendering student and I am pursuing the subject called SQL, and in that we have many queries provided by the SQL to perform different functions, I want to know about the different searching queries, as I am little bit confused in that, so any one here, knows about SQL and their queries? Need to know very urgently, because I have an exam on this after 2 days, need some advice. Thanks.

Re: SQL Query for different search.

I would say this is the best place you have come to ask, and by the way the queries are too simple, and when it comes to searching from the table it becomes quite interesting, because there are too many queries regarding these, and off course they all provides the different outputs, I would like to suggest you that you should learn it from the SQL reference book, as they have very good explanation on each of the query, with the example.

See, first of all as you want to search the result from the table, the query is too simple, always begin such a query by the keyword select, as you have to display the result, thus start with select, than name all the fields that you want to display in the output, like the name, rollno, date, class etc, assume that there is a table called studmaster and these are the fields, thus write the query like, select name, rollno from the studmaster; this will display all the name and therir roll number in the output.

Hey this is too simple that you have to simply provide the name of the table and then it will retrieve the values from that table that you have mentioned in the table. Now suppose if the query is like,
    SELECT Volume Identity AS 'Index Volume', Folder Name AS 'Index Folder Name'
    FROM volume
    WHERE Volume identity = '80'
    Here, volume is the table and it will retrieve the Volume Identity and Folder Name from the table volume and will search for the condition that’s volume identity = '80'