Thread: Java Web Start application to convert applet

Java Web Start application to convert applet

We have developed a web start application and think about to convert them to an applet. The Webstart application itself requires Internet connectivity and we have found no way to share the Internet connection of the browser as a Webstart application so independently of the browser is running. This means that a user enter both in the Web Start-Settings and in the settings of our application's proxy information, it must have an Internet connection can be built from the application. This would disappear if we would use instead of a web start applet. Now imagine me a few questions about Applets (in the area I have little experience):
    • Can an Applet reference several additional jars to resources (classes, diagrams, etc) straight from libraries?
    • Can I reload an applet in native libraries (JNI)?
    • Can we do any changes in an applet on local data outside the sandbox. Signature is present. Appear to be any warnings to the user?
    • Can be opened by an applet from a further swing dialog or is it limited to a total of a dialogue?
    Thanks in advance for your answers!!

Re: Java Web Start application to convert applet

First of all applets have a completely different life cycle. Furthermore, different applets, and "not normal" applications in the Java classloading. Both work in a sandbox and only if it appropriately signed and rights they are, they can break out of this sandbox. Ah yes the BP, an applet may, if it is signed correctly make on your local box everything you implementing. And of course you can from an applet out n open as many dialogues.