Thread: What is the Event Dispatch Thread in Java?

What is the Event Dispatch Thread in Java?

Hi friends,
    I am new to the Java programming language. So i don't know much about the Java. While processing an events the event dispatch thread is used. I know other than this about the event dispatch thread. I want some information about it since it is very important. So please explain me in details what is the Event Dispatch Thread in Java? Any other information related to the topic would also be appreciated.
    Technology is a way of organizing the universe so that man doesn't have to experience it.-- Max Frisch 1911 -1991

Re: What is the Event Dispatch Thread in Java?

Swing event handling code runs on a special thread known as the event dispatch thread. The swing methods which gets invoked by many codes also runs on this thread. EventDispatchThread is a package-private AWT class. The event dispatching thread (EDT) is a background thread used in Java to process events from the AWT. In single-thread rule swing components can be accessed by only one thread at a time. Mostly this thread is the event-dispatching thread. EventDispatchThread starts a "permanent" event pump with a call to pumpEvents in its run() method.
    IF you hate me, please don't mention it. I know who hates me and who doesn't. You really do not have to make fun of people....

You can also execute the coding of the other application threads in the event dispatching thread. For doing this you will have to define the code in a Runnable object and pass it to the SwingUtilities helper class or to the EventQueue. There are two methods of this class which are described as follows :
    • synchronous code execution
    • asynchronous code execution