Thread: What are the Character Entities in HTML?

What are the Character Entities in HTML?

I have just started with the HTML programming language. I am very new to programming language. I am in secondary school and very eager to know about more things in HTML.!! While referencing some books I read the Character Entities in HTML. There was not more description on that topic. So I thought to post my query here. I just want to know more about the character entities. Can someone explain what are the Character Entities in HTML? Hoping that you guys will help me soon.!!
    ASUS P5VD1-X
    Intel Pentium Dual Core 3.00GHz
    Maxtor 160GB
    Corsair 1.5GB PC3200 RAM
    Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT 256mb
    Phillips DVD RW
    Magna 500W PSU
    XION II Steel Black Gaming Case

Re: What are the Character Entities in HTML?

In HTML some characters are reserved. I will give you an example for that, so it will be better for you to understand. You cannot use the greater than or less than signs within your text because the browser that you are using could mistake them for markup. Suppose that if you want to display these characters on the browsers, then you will have to insert the character entities in the source of HTML. A character looks like : &entity_name; . For example if you want to display a greater than sign, then you must write :
    > or >. Now the > is the &#entity_number; for the greater than sign. You can also use the &#entity_number; for displaying the greater than sign. But writing the &#entity_number; is difficult, since we cannot remember the &#entity_number; for every value. So it will be better to use the &entity_name; which is more simple than &#entity_number;.