Thread: Create cursor in SQL server via transact SQL

Create cursor in SQL server via transact SQL

Hi,
    How can I create a cursor using t-sql. I want create it for a project work. Also how can I use it in store procedure. I am running Microsoft SQL Server 2008 in my system. Can anyone please post a complete procedure with steps and a general information about the the above process. I even want to know about the transact process of sql. As it is in my course study but I need some more simple examples. I am new to it so I do not know much about this. I will grateful for the help. Thanks in advance.

Re: Create cursor in SQL server via transact SQL

There is a problem in working of some applications for example interactive and online one to work with the entire set as a unit. They need an proper mechanism to work in one row or in a small block of rows at a particular time. We will take an examples of medicines in a chemist shop. Now here the user want to see a record from the table. He will like to view more records. A cursor is a kind of database object which is used by applications. They use it to manipulate data by rows instead of record sets. The cursor is used to perform many operation in a row manner agaist the result set. This can be doing without returning to original table. Or if I say more elaborately a cursor tentatively returns a result set based on tables within a database. It can be used for the following thing :-
    • It a particular rows of resultset it allows proper positioning.
    • You can retrieve a single or a set of rows from the current position in the resultset.
    • At the time of current position in the resultset it supports data modification.
    • A visibility option is supported by it to track the changes made by other users to the database data in the presented resultset.
    • It triggers to access the data in resultset alongwith a T-SQL statements in script and store procedures.