Thread: Multiple Foreign Key in T-SQL Syntax

Multiple Foreign Key in T-SQL Syntax

Hi there.
    I am not a sql programmer; so forgive me if I am somewhere going wrong. My question is that in a SQL Server database, Is it possible to create multiple foreign keys on a particular table and every column in the table should have some null values? And if the table already consists of some primary key and you are in need for creating foreign keys, is it that you have to make the new column for the primary key in order for creating a foreign key?

Please provide examples or illustrations on how to create multiple foreign keys on tables as a unique constraint while some of the values in these new foreign keys will have some null values?

Please help me in this query.

Re: Multiple Foreign Key in T-SQL Syntax

First error means there are duplicate records in your operating systems system column of applications table. Naturally, you can't put a unique constraint on it.

Second error is because of the absence of the unique constraint that we tried to create in first statement and fails.

If you can't remove duplicate values from operating systems systems column of applications table, you can't do this activity.

You are safer dropping and recreating them for the new table.

Or, can you re-use the same Primary Keys for the new table that were in the Old table you are replacing? Then you don't have to update the FKs at all.

If the Primary Key is auto-incrementing "Identity" column, you can use "Set Identity_Insert On", to allow you to insert new records into the new table's identity column with an explicit value (the pk from the old table). Run Set Identity_Insert Off when you're done and you're off and running.