Thread: Vista 64 problem installing Visual Studio 2005

Vista 64 problem installing Visual Studio 2005

Hi,

I bought Visual Studio 2008 pro since it uses the 2.0 version of the framework which VS 2005 uses. VS 2008 IDE is supported by Vista out of the box & the software is 3 years old.

There is problem installing Visual studio 2005 on vista 64.

Re: Vista 64 problem installing Visual Studio 2005

I have had no experience with the 64 bit version of windows vista, but I have installed VS2005 on the 32 bit version of vista. Are you running the installer as administrator? If not, When you first put in the DVD do not let it do the autorun. Instead goto My computer, selected your dvd drive, right click it and select explore. From the DVD files find the autorun or the stepup.exe right click the file and select "run as administrator" and see if that fixes the problem.

Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack 1 Update for Windows Vista release notes

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929470

Hope this helps you!

So it seems I have to install the normal (non-Vista) SP1 *then* the Vista version.... but the only problem (and how f***ing typical is this of Microsoft) that the link to the original SP1 is broken!!!! Will have to try and hunt it down somewhere else on the M$ site.

I really love developing with .Net but honestly, at times like this, I could strangle everyone in the whole bl**dy company... I've wasted nearly all day on this so far!

Edit: just in case anyone else hits this problem and can't find the original SP1 download page here it is here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Here is a set of factoids that should help answer the most commonly enquired issues:

(a) There are two flavours of 64-bit - AMD64 or X64, and IA64. Windows 64-bit installs on both architectures.