Thread: SBS 2003 Companyweb Being redirected

SBS 2003 Companyweb Being redirected

Hello all,I am new to this form as of today. I am having an issue with my (intranet) site. Let me give you a veiw of my network.
    My PDC use to be an SBS 2003 Standard box, I used SBS Transistion Pak to convert it to 2003 R2 standard Server. This was done over four years ago. Through the past few years some of the SBS stuff started to become non functional, one being the remote web workspace. Monday 5/14/2012, when users tried to access the site it would go to the home page for just a couple seconds then it redirects itself to a Youtube video, "MBA for Dummies".
    This to me seems to me to be a DNS issue. I check My DNS Server and the path seems to be correct. And one other strange thing that I found, I can not locate the default.aspx file for my site anywhere on the server. Now we can land on the home page by stopping the redirect by hitting the red X in the address bar when the site starts to load before it redirects. Some of My files seem to be missing on the site also. This is a closed site, it can not be accessed from the internet, so whatever has happened should be an inturnal server issue. To me it acts like a DB corruption. Any help on this would be very greatful.

Thank you

Re: SBS 2003 Companyweb Being redirected

Can you try to go to command prompt and ping companyweb. Does it return the internal IP address of the server? If no, go to the DNS console and see where companyweb points to. If that doesn't help, go to IIS Manager, then right click on 'companyweb' select 'properties' and make sure under the 'home directory' tab that the choice "A directory located on this computer" is selected and not "A redirection to a URL".