Thread: MSI GX740-079US is overheating

MSI GX740-079US is overheating

I have been using GX740-079US and I never had any issues with it by now. I don’t know what went wrong with the same today and it turned off when I was playing battlefield 3. I did not had any such issues while playing the game before, when I turned it on then it started working fine but as soon as I started playing the game it turned off again after 40 mins. I thought that the issue was just with battlefield 3 but I was able to reproduce the same while playing other games as well. Is there anyone who has faced the same and can help me out solving it??

Re: MSI GX740-079US is overheating

I think that your issue is because of overheating, the laptop might be turning off when it might be getting overheated. I guess cpu fan in your case is not able to provide proper cooling. You should better check it out and make sure that it is not wrapped up in dust and is functioning properly. Just clean it out and see if it is making any difference, if that does not help then you can try running the fan high while playing games. I also wanted to know how long you have been using your laptop??

Yes you need to check out the cpu fan, if you are not getting any help after cleaning the fan and so then you can try applying thermal paste to your processor. If you are using it from a long time then there are chances that the thermal paste of your processor might have got dried. If you don’t have an idea about applying thermal paste to processor in your laptop then you can just Google out “Applying Thermal Compound to a Laptop CPU and GPU”. I think doing that will be a better idea. Just try it out and let me know if it is helping or not.