Thread: How to unlock GLONASS in HTC One S Snapdragon S4 processor

How to unlock GLONASS in HTC One S Snapdragon S4 processor

I am new to this thing since it is a new mobile phone but I do know something about the Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 processor. The HTC one S has this processor and that’s why this phone made me a best choice after all. Now this processor has a support for GLONASS. I need to know how to unlock it but before that I would like to know it is possible to unlock or not.

What Sound processor does HTC One S included on-board?

Re: How to unlock GLONASS in HTC One S Snapdragon S4 processor

Do you think that it is really needs unlocking? In my case my phone package says that "Supports GPS/GLONASS" but I don’t know how to check it? Is there any good way to check or enable it?

There is a good app on the android market which will help you know how many satellites are there for GPS support. Install it and launch in your phone and make sure that the log shows satellites numbered 65 to 88. As for settings, the HTC one S does not have any additional settings to "Enable GPS" / "Enable GLONASS". I guess that it is hidden from the user. For a normal user it does not matter and he/she does not care about unlocking and setting of GLONASS

I like GPS system because with this I never see more than 6-8 satellites at once. But now I think that there are almost 30 functional satellites in orbit globally. The GLONASS is not beneficial to everyone because it provides good radio signal only to upper northern hemispere, and lower southern hemispheres but the system is globally active. Due to its orbit inclination and distance, the GLONASS is capable to provide a better coverage for most of the regions near to the Polar Regions. The GPS satellites works in lower orbit this providing good coverage to "middle ground". So I would rather use GPS in my phone for accurate results.