Thread: How to disassemble and reassemble Sony Vaio VPCZ1 LCD

How to disassemble and reassemble Sony Vaio VPCZ1 LCD

I have a Sony Vaio VPCZ1 LCD with me and I have been using it for past many months. After using it for long time on construction area to access the data regarding my job, I think dust has been accumulated in my laptop. If I place laptop on any desk and then lift it, I find some dust on the desk. For this reason, I intend to open it and clean it as dust can harm the working of my laptop. Can anybody tell me how to safely disassemble and reassemble a Sony Vaio VPCZ1 LCD laptop?

Re: How to disassemble and reassemble Sony Vaio VPCZ1 LCD

First you will need to remove all the screws from the bottom part of the laptop. Remove all the screws even if you don’t need to operate on any specific part. After removing screws, remove all the hinges. Removing hinges is not necessary but it will provide better access while cleaning the internal parts of laptop. Removing hinges also allow the laptop to be laid flat on its back. The hinges are attached with 6 screws and covered with a black tape. After you remove the hinges, you will see the cables that connect monitor from main body. See to it that you don’t damage them.

After you have done it, you will see three Bezel screws. These Bezel screws are covered with black tape and foam in some models. You don’t need to remove them fully, but just need to loosen them. They will be blocked by the Bezel blocks and thus they can’t be removed. The bezel blocks that block the screws are held to the body with plastic clips and can be raised a little. It is preferable if you work from loosening of bottom screw first.

After Bezel screws are loosened; you can lift the LCD from its place. Be careful as many sensitive parts lie beneath it. See to it that you do not move the loose LCD sideways as it may damage the minor parts.