Thread: Apple OSX Lion: how to sort all icons?

Apple OSX Lion: how to sort all icons?

I recently got a Macbook with Lion installed. I'm new to OSX and want to know how to have all icons stay automatically arranged by name. I can do it folder-by-folder but that is too frustrating. Is there an easier way? I have one way for doing this that is using folder by folder arrangement but that was so frustrating. So over here I would like to know the easier way for sorting the icons in the OXS. If anyone having any idea about how to sort the icons then please suggest, me over here.

Re: Apple OSX Lion: how to sort all icons?

In this case I will suggest you the following steps which are as:
    1. The first step will be in the menu bar click the Finder > Preferences.
    2. And after that in the next windows, select the general tab over there.
    3. Then check the box marked hard drive.
    4. After this in the sidebar tab put the check mark in the box which have the box marked Hard Disks
    5. and after this close the windows.
    6. And after this setting your hard drive will appear on the top right of the screen and when you open the window, hard drive will be there in the top right. For getting the information about the empty space in the hard drive you can right click on the hard drive and then you will able to see the information on the hard drive.

Hey friend, thanks for your suggestion. But still I am having some confusion that how are find the built-in HD from the Finder? While trying with this I see that there is no icon on the desktop and also in the list under Devices in the Finder. Please tell in the brief if you are having this Hard Drive icon in the Devices in the Finder. And also please explain me that how do you find that how much space is there in your hard drive to be used?

You can also use the steps as:
    • To open the view option use the command-J
    • And then select arrange by name in the given list.