Thread: restart option doesn't work laptop shuts down

restart option doesn't work laptop shuts down

after reinstalling Vista on my laptop and all working fine it now won't restart when that option is chosen and stays shut down. I tried to make a restart button for the desktop but this did not work. Any suggestions please - i'm not technical so need layman's terms please

Re: restart option doesn't work laptop shuts down

Even i too faced this problem on my windows xp long back.. but the only way i fixed it was by formatting. Note: i am not computer freak. Hope anyone else can give you proper solution for this. Till than what i can suggest you is System Restore OR Windows Update . See if it works for you.

Thanks for your reply...it was all working fine after I did a complete reinstal and then possibly after Microsoft did updates it wouldn't work. I used my Vista CD repair option [didn't cure it] and then did the memory check and it worked. Then used microsoft "Fix it" software to check pc and it updated the Sigma Tel audio driver and now I have 2 separate icons of these[both same name]in my control panel but my device manager says for Sound ie Speakers/headphones I use Sigma Tel high definition audio CODEC and this is the one under the Sound icon in my control panel [the 2 Sigma icons are not in the Sound icon].
    I'm loathed to do a system restore as this didn't cure the problem even though I knew it worked at that restore point. I also have a complete pc backup on a separate hard drive [made a few days ago] when it was working then but found at a previous dated backup it didn't restore that" restart "option so haven't used this backup yet..