Thread: How to increase the performance of Kinect sensor

How to increase the performance of Kinect sensor

Hey guys, I recently saw many videos and Ads related to the new Microsoft kinect sensor for Xbox. It seem to be so amazing that yesterday itself I purchased my new Xbox Kinect sensor. It is truly amazing. But as I am very new to this I had few queries. Just wanted to know how I can make it possible to get the best optimum result out of my Kinect sensor and get the best performance. Please anyone who have an experience using this device or any information of it, guide me to get my issues solved. Your help will always be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Re: How to increase the performance of Kinect sensor

The position of your kinect sensor will play an important role in determining the performance of your kinect sensor. So I would suggest you to avoid keeping it under direct sunlight. That will degrade the performance to considerable amount. Following are the points included in good lighting:
    • The room should be brightly lit.
    • You must make sure that the room in which you have placed your Kinect sensor is having enough light so that you are atleast able to see your face clearly.
    • You should keep the side and the back light to its minimum, especially if the light is projected form window.
    • Always make sure the player is in the front side, which is similar to, when you clicking pictures of the player.
    • Avoid positioning the kinect sensor or the player in direct sunlight as this will create conditions which will make it hard for the kinect sensor device to identify or track the movements of the player.