Thread: Toshiba Qosmio X505 - Q880 fan is making excessive noise

Toshiba Qosmio X505 - Q880 fan is making excessive noise

Hey guys, I had purchased Toshiba Qosmio X505-Q880 laptop 2 months back which is running windows Vista in it. And within 2 months of normal use, Toshiba Qosmio X505 - Q880 laptop’s fan is making excessive noise. This nose is really annoying at times. I am a newbie so I am unable to find out what really must be causing my laptop’s fan to make such an excessive noise. If anyone knows the reason behind this unusual behavior of my laptop’s fan, than please tell me along with a solution to solve the issue. Please feel free to reply to my post and give your suggestions. Your suggestions and help will be appreciated.

Re: Toshiba Qosmio X505 - Q880 fan is making excessive noise

The fan of your laptop is making loud noises because lots of dirt and dust might have got accumulated near the exhaust fan area of your laptop. You need to clean that area and remove all those dirt and dust which has got accumulated. You can do that by blowing pressured air near the fan area, thus forcing the dust to blow out and clear the area. You must remember to keep your laptop clean form dusts. Also make a habit to clean your laptop’s fan area every now and then. This is one of the many reasons behind laptops getting heated up an moving loud fan noise.

Sometimes the fan starts making loud noise, when the resources are overused and are limited. It might be possible that the processes are utilizing almost all the available resources thus overheating your laptop. Overheating of laptop will increase the fan speed thus making things worst. So I would recommend you to delete the unnecessary running processes and releasing some of the resources. Also make sure that appropriate cooling is provided to your laptop.