Thread: Motorola DEFY: Is it possible to go directly to Android 2.3 Gingerbread

Motorola DEFY: Is it possible to go directly to Android 2.3 Gingerbread

Being a software developer myself, I am frightened seeing a few type of Linux running on this. But as well, I would not misuse so much time to realize a custom Android 2.2 Froyo for the device, if Google had just in print the API for Android 2.3 Gingerbread. As I implicit, it’s even simpler to implement, because the UI upgrade does not necessitate as much customization as the Android versions earlier. And I would truly faith Google here; they know how to execute interfaces. Obviously you could leave the MotoBlur optional as it previously is, some like it, and others hate it.

Re: Motorola DEFY: Is it possible to go directly to Android 2.3 Gingerbread

To the extent that I have heard, the 2.2 android update for Defy is previously being deployed on Asia, and, it's planned to be deployed here on the next pair of months. But your point is more than accurate. As shown on CES, Motorola previously have devices with 2.3 versions. And for what I have seeing regarding the specs, the Defy could flawlessly run it, but I truly don't know what Motorola mean to do regarding it. While the Defy had arrived, the 2.2 version was previously on market, and at a standstill it came with 2.1.

I as well have the Defy since January 2011s. I have a query, maybe inexperienced: could it be, while Moto released the Defy, that the 2.2 was not previously completely tested or validated? I know that the Milestone 2 (Droid 2 elsewhere) was released here at the similar time, previously had the 2.2, but don't know if this was the case universal. Anyhow, it shouldn't be so tricky for getting OS updates for the Moto Android phones.