Thread: Do we get roaming charges if we turn our phones to Air plane mode

Do we get roaming charges if we turn our phones to Air plane mode

Hi guys I am a journalist working in a very reputed media company. Travelling has always been my passion. I been travelled a lot in India, almost every streets of Delhi, Calcutta and Mumbai. It has been quite long in this industry, and on the basis of my loyal and consistent work I have been offered a project for which I will be going abroad for atleast a month. I am a reserved kind of person and like to conserve what I earn, rather than spending my money for nothing at all in return. I have travelled all over India but flying abroad will be my first experience. So I was curious about the fact that will I get roaming charges if I turn my phone to the Air plane mode while I am in abroad.

Re: Do we get roaming charges if we turn our phones to Air plane mode

One thing you should keep in mind while you travel abroad is that you may have the risk of spending a fortune on roaming and international phone charges. If you travel abroad with your regular mobile phone you will have to pay so-called roaming charges to your current service provider. You may have to pay for roaming regardless of whether you make or accept calls. Roaming charges can be as high as $3 a minute. Or they may come in form of a high connection fee. So if you desire to continue using your normal phone abroad the way you use it at home you may end up paying $200 a day or more. This is far too expensive for a normal guy to bare the expense. So what I suggest you is to keep your phone at home and try making calls from phone boots in abroad. This can sound strange but is an excellent alternative. And never try the Air plane mode in abroad it does not work you are still being tracked and charged for the service.