Thread: I want to make my computer an ftp server on SuSE Linux

I want to make my computer an ftp server on SuSE Linux

I am a newbie and I was making use of windows XP but , I am interested in making my computer an ftp server(small scale) , and while typing a service vsftpd start.it provides me an error message which is similar to this one.
    Starting vsftpd startproc: exit status of parent of /usr/sbin/vsftpd: 1
    Failed
    Can you give me some reason for the same as why it is not enabling me to do the same.

Re: I want to make my computer an ftp server on SuSE Linux

As I think that this thread is relating to my query, I installed SLES (SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10) at present with Service Pack 3 and I resolved the ftp configuration. And to add further to my query root account is not able to access to ftp. Can you guys help me in the situation where how to allow root account ftp to server?

I will provide some basic steps which will help you to solve your issue.
    1. You need to make an Installation
    2. You need to Configure
    3. You also need to Adjust SUSE Firewall
    4. And then finally you need to make some Testing

Guys I am only knowing the testing process which will help yoo in final stage. As my friend suggested this step but however , I am not confirmed with previous steps.
    So all I had done was Restarted the SuSeFirewall as well as vsftp with the following commands

# rcnetwork restart
    # rcxinetd restart

make use of your preferred FTP client software so that you are able to connect to your Server IP on port 21 and you need to give the following command.
    $ ftp 192.168.0.2

Thanks for those replies but can I get the remaining part of the answer as I cannot find it anywhere. As I cant find the installation part. As that is the most important part we should have. So I have also heard that we need to test the entire situation.