Thread: Real time kernel for audio in Linux Mint

Real time kernel for audio in Linux Mint

I'm brand new to Mint following Ubuntu Studio update to 11.04 installed Gnome 3, didn't enjoy it to any detectable degree, not Unity nor Classic without impacts, uprooting Unity was no help either; so now I switch, never looking at Real time kernel back for Audio; now I've looked the network and just found a few references to this subject but none noting the inquiry: Does Mint have a Real Time Kernel?

Re: Real time kernel for audio in Linux Mint

Same with me as I try not to see linux-rt, and I know you cannot install Ubuntu Studio in Mint. I am unsure how jackd back for true blue-time audio works without a kernel that backing it. I'm just for a Mint Studio form, but the closest I have caught said was a Media Version; but what I am searching for is simply a Real Time Kernel; I am able to patch whatever product I need; though Ubuntu Studio introduces the majority of the programming I require and a Real Time Kernel.

1. -Ubuntu real time kernel-good to go for instate via Synaptic Package Manager.
    2. -Ubuntu Studio, desktop, applications, and so on. - available for install via Synaptic Package Manager.
    3. -jackd-ready for install via Synaptic Package Manager.

The command line I utilize to update Ubuntu to Ubuntu Studio

Code:
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-desktop 
    ubuntustudio-audio ubuntustudio-audio-plugins ubuntustudio-graphics 
    ubuntustudio-video
    I have had no situation install all but ubuntustudio-desktop, which instates every last trace of the topics and menus; this is the singled out case that will hose the system, which is fine, I have records went down; but doesn't help install the rt kernel. Spared me the time to rephrase the inquiry so its clear. This doesn't spot the files in the Repos:

Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-rt linux-headers-rt