Thread: Grub screen failed after new install in Linux Mint

Grub screen failed after new install in Linux Mint

So I've been utilizing Mint for a few months and Ubuntu before it for even longer, but I'm absolutely unique to double booting and I've gotten myself stuck. Confidently the key is something basic, but its absolutely escaped me! I established Katya principle on a mate's computer in the company of Windows XP yesterday utilizing the live plate (in fact a usb) without doing anything backup. The installation seemed to go fine, but a short time later I didn't get any grub screen to prefer a working framework on booting up. Not needing to leave the machine in a unfamiliar state for my associate, I set XP as the default from StartUp-Manager. However, now Windows won't spare me the time to set the Mint partition as active of the fact that it distinguishes it as a logical partition. So now I'm stuck over in Windows. Is there a course for me to switch the boot partition from the live disk?

Re: Grub screen failed after new install in Linux Mint

Reboot the PC, holding down <SHIFT> so you get the 'GRUB loading inform. While the 'out of sync' is on screen press the <PG UP> button (this might as well, confidently, take you to the first article on the GRUB catalogue). Now press <ENTER> and see provided that it boots into Mint for you. In the event that so then we would be able to attempt to location the different issues. Since doing this with <PG UP> doesn't work, and after that attempt the same thing with pressing the down shaft once alternately.