Thread: Microsoft removed / hidden the Startup Options (F8) a terrible omission on Windows 8

Microsoft removed / hidden the Startup Options (F8) a terrible omission on Windows 8

Today, when Win8 So I have to function as a virtual machine in Virtual Box all working fine. I try to change my graphics card driver in order to obtain adequate support drivers using Virtual Box, but unfortunately Windows starts with a blank screen. No problem, I think, and you can always use last known good configuration boot options using F8. But to my surprise, it seems that Microsoft has removed or hidden these options! These are very important for the coach of the media! I am an IT consultant in an SME, and now I'm beginning to think that Microsoft will make this next operating system very difficult for us to solve problems. I can see the direction to go with 8, but if you're not careful they will completely alienate business users.

Re: Microsoft removed / hidden the Startup Options (F8) a terrible omission on Windows 8

You should revive, then enable safe mode, then install that additional driver first. Any troubles from there and you can log in on safe mode and uninstall the driver.

Re: Microsoft removed / hidden the Startup Options (F8) a terrible omission on Windows 8

You see the issue is that because it is able to push back the new driver can not even get to that screen, my guess would be that the operating system goes from VGA mode roughly right away. I can see no way to pass this without a reinstall pressing F8 takes you to a blank screen for a bad display driver. This is a terrible failure of the new operating system! Try it and see what I mean, literally, no solution without reinstall or repair the installation.

No, the update means that basically you can reinstall the operating system and maintain your personal data. Do you have the installation media nearby? You should be able to boot to it, and run an update.