Thread: How to Create a Secured and Locked Folder in Mac OS X Lion

How to Create a Secured and Locked Folder in Mac OS X Lion

I am using the Mac OS X Lion in my system, as I’m new to this OS I don’t have that much of information regarding this OS, last Monday I was trying to make my folder secure but I fail to do this, so I had visited various sites for this, but still not cleared with this. So any steps or process you people know then please provide your help to do this. Your replies will be appreciate

Re: How to Create a Secured and Locked Folder in Mac OS X Lion

It’s so simple to create a locked. And private folders in Mac OS, there are inbuilt application present in Mac OS X Lion to do this. You can make any kind of files in Mac OS password protected, or simply you can place those file in to password protected folders. For this you should have to follow these simple steps
    • First find the folder you wish to make secured ‘protected’.
    • After that, open up Disk Utility by means of the path Finder > Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility.
    • Now from the disk utility select ‘File’ then go to ‘New’ after that select ‘Disk Image from Folder’ which is present at the top of the navigation bar.
    • A window appears with the title ‘Select Folder to Image’.
    • After that select that folder you are going to make password protected, after selecting the required folder click the ‘image’ button present to the bottom of that window.
    • Now you will find one new window which have two important options ‘Image Format’ and ‘Encryption’ where you have to select image format to read/write and encryption to 128-bit AES encryption (recommended) Click the Save button to save the image file.