Thread: Unable to Install catdoc in a CentOS 5.2

Unable to Install catdoc in a CentOS 5.2

I have to install 'catdoc' package on a CentOS 5.2 server. The problem is that this server does not have yum installed and I am a complete beginner on Red Hat derived distributions. As this is a production server, I am very afraid of doing something wrong and damage the system. I found some instructions to install yum, so I suppose that after installing yum is a matter of running: yum install catdoc right? Or is it safe to download only catdoc related rpms and install it manually? What do you recommend?

Re: Unable to Install catdoc in a CentOS 5.2

I use a lot of VPS and often have not really yum to make my life easier. So here is a quick HOWTO to install yum on a CentOS box. This presumes that you have rpm and wget is previously setup. Note: This just works on CentOS 5.2, when the mirror is at a standstill active. Run the below code into a temporary directory to download all the RPM packages.

Code:
    #!/bin/bash

for file in \
            elfutils-0.125-3.el5.i386.rpm \
            elfutils-libs-0.125-3.el5.i386.rpm \
            expat-1.95.8-8.2.1.i386.rpm \
            gmp-4.1.4-10.el5.i386.rpm \
            libxml2-2.6.26-2.1.2.1.i386.rpm \
            libxml2-python-2.6.26-2.1.2.1.i386.rpm \
            m2crypto-0.16-6.el5.2.i386.rpm \
            python-2.4.3-21.el5.i386.rpm \
            python-elementtree-1.2.6-5.i386.rpm \
            python-iniparse-0.2.3-4.el5.noarch.rpm \
            python-sqlite-1.1.7-1.2.1.i386.rpm \
            python-urlgrabber-3.1.0-2.noarch.rpm \
            readline-5.1-1.1.i386.rpm \
            rpm-4.4.2-48.el5.i386.rpm \
            rpm-libs-4.4.2-48.el5.i386.rpm \
            rpm-python-4.4.2-48.el5.i386.rpm \
            sqlite-3.3.6-2.i386.rpm \
            yum-3.2.8-9.el5.centos.1.noarch.rpm \
            yum-metadata-parser-1.1.2-2.el5.i386.rpm
      do wget 
    done