Thread: Is it safe to install Linux Mint with Windows

Is it safe to install Linux Mint with Windows

I have clearly mentioned the doubt that I am having related Linux Mint and windows. See the thing is that I am not an expert related to this field but want to learn many things. Recently I have heard about the dual booting system. Currently I am running my system on windows operating system and now I want to dual boot my system. But I am little worried about my current system. It should not happen that, if I install Linux Mint on my system then I will loss all my files that are present on windows system. If you have understood the problem I am facing then let me know the solution for this problem.

Re: Is it safe to install Linux Mint with Windows

There won’t be any issue if want to dual boot your system. You have not clearly mention which version of windows you are using. Especially useful for Vista PC on which you cannot install windows XP. Customers have only 2 choices: Vista or Linux. While most are experimenting with Linux, because Vista is really bad. You can use an external hard drive to install linux mint. I hope that this will definitely solve the problem that you are facing. If you have any other issues then let me know about that I will try to resolve that as soon as possible. I am not an expert but know the solution for small problems.

For the external hard drive, yes it is possible. But for low playing with the BIOS disk order is discouraged. Unless you're an experienced user of Grub and you know your repair multiboot I would advise very strongly that solution. For a first approach on Linux is better to choose the default option (boot from the CD, click install, and select the option to resize C: \). In short you will not face any issue if you are trying to dual boot you system with windows and Linux mint operating system. I am saying this because I am also having dual boot system.