Thread: Troubleshooting auto-mount ntfs partition in Linux Mint 10

Troubleshooting auto-mount ntfs partition in Linux Mint 10

I am new to Linux mint10 operating system which I have installed last night. I was recommended that Mint10 operating system is more user-friendly than Ubuntu operating system. All well except for being unable to auto-mount ntfs partitions. Each time the ntfs partitions need to mount which they do. I have tried both ntfs-config and editing the /etc/fstab. With ntfs-config the user interface doesn’t come on as it used to in previous install. I need a solution so that I can troubleshoot this problem easily and mount ntfs partition easily without ant problem.

Re: Troubleshooting auto-mount ntfs partition in Linux Mint 10

If you are facing problem while mounting ntfs partition then you can easily troubleshoot this problem by following the steps given below:
    1. You need to make permanent home for the ntfs partition into which it can be stored. To make permanent home for the ntfs partition you may need to type the following command in the terminal window:
      Code:
      sudo mkdir /media/WinBackUp
    2. The above command will take the backup and it will be stored in the location given by you.
    3. After taking a backup you may need to add a line to the fstab by typing the command given below:
      Code:
      /dev/sda5 /media/WinBackUp ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,uid=1000,gid=46 0 0
    4. Now you can type the below command in the fstab file which will mount the ntfs partition.
      Code:
      sudo mount –a
    5. Now the ntfs partition will be mounted automatically without any problem.