Thread: Cannot change my password.

Cannot change my password.

Hi guys,

I am new to this Ubuntu operating system. Currently I am using Karmic Koala. I need to change my password and for that I have used

system->Administration->users and groups for changing my password

I have entered my new password and the clicked on the “Change Password”. It is displaying the message that the password is changed.

But when tried to login I was forced to enter the old password the system is not accepting the new password.

Can any one help me for changing the password?
    http://forums.techarena.in/guides-tutorials/1135890.htm

Re: Cannot change my password.

Well you can change the password of the system going through System -> Preferences -> About Me.
    You can also use

System -> Administration -> Users and Groups but this is use for the system administrator for managing the systems user accounts

I know that it is a bit confusing for the new people like you. One more thing the Users and groups are logical place for changing your own password.

I am also a complete new use to Ubuntu and use this X- Window system. I am not having the deep knowledge of system. I have tried to use the solution which are mentioned in the above replies but I was unable to change the password of the system. One more when I tried to use the "About Me" panel for changing my current password it hanged and then I have to close the window for bring the system back to normal.

Any idea why I cannot change my password

These are the simple step for changing the password or if you have forgot the password of your system.
    Step 1 : Boot the live CD or live USB

Step 2: Mount ( make available, basically) your drive by going to places and selecting it
    When you mount the drive, Ubuntu will automatically open it with the file manager. Go ahead and close this auto opened windows.

Step3: Press Alt-F2 to get a Run Application dialogue up.