Thread: Can we do a fresh installation of Windows-7 with the recovery disks??

Can we do a fresh installation of Windows-7 with the recovery disks??

I have recently purchased a Sony Vaio Laptop, which is having the Windows 7 (Home-Premium) as the operating system. I have to create the Recovery Disks so that I can upload the OS later on when it gets corrupted. Also there are many trial software that came along with that system. Now I don't want any of that software. Can I install Windows 7 from the recovery disks ?? Since I am very new to Windows 7 I don't have that much of knowledge. There are two options in "Vaio Recovery Center". The first is "Restore Complete System". And the other option is "Wipe and Erase Data". Using this option can I install the Windows 7 freshly without the loaded software.?? Please help me..!!
    Blessings to you

Re: Can we do a fresh installation of Windows-7 with the recovery disks??

According to me you cannot install the only operating system from the Recovery Disks. When you create the Recovery CD, that means the copy of your OS and other software gets into the CD or DVD's. When you try to install the OS from the Recovery CD/DVD the OS with other default software will get installed.

Exactly. The funda is simple of the Recovery CD. It will install the OS and other software on the laptop as it was when you purchased it. Just like the factory settings. Creating the Recovery CD is very important because you can install the original OS using that CD. The rest of the software will also get installed.