Thread: Knoppix does not display hard drive on desktop

Knoppix does not display hard drive on desktop

Please bear with me, I am very new to this. My computer keeps giving me the dreaded blue screen, so in an attempt to save some stuff on my hard drive I downloaded knoppix and am running it from the disk. My hard drive does not show up on the desktop, but I can find it in the file:/dev. It is listed as sda1. The problem is that I do not have permission to read it...

I would appreciate any help anyone can give me. I really need to access some stuff I have stored if at all possible. If you need more information just let me know.

Thank you again.

Re: Knoppix does not display hard drive on desktop

You can use sfc /scannow using Vista disc and it will let you start up so you will be able to backup my files.

Yes if your vista disc can recognize your harddrive but not XP. Then it is not a hardware problem. Most likely your system has those new SATA drive controller that XP is too old to recognize.

Microsoft is pushing really hard on the Vista, so they no longer support the XP and no more device driver will be provided by them.

On the other hand, hardware manufacturer only provides driver for Vista. Very often the case on the new mother board for the Gigabit ethernet card. A lot of user experienced the same difficulty when they try to use XP instead. The solution is to buy a network card with xp driver comes with it and install it on the machine in order to have network connection.

However, you may try your luck to go to the manufacturer web site and see if they provide driver for the xp or even linux.

If you have that problem, change the permissions by right-clicking on the your drive, and choosing "Change read/write mode" Then, you can simply drag and drop files from your hard drive to your USB drive to Backup your Data